July 2017 wrapup

It’s been a very strange month for me, to say the least. However, I somehow made time for some reading!

I read 13 books this month.

P6151699.JPG

Before I Fall (Lauren Oliver) – 3 // 5

Quidditch Through the Ages (JK Rowling) – 4 // 5

Illuminae (Amie Kaufman)  – 5 // 5 Review here!

Gemina (Amie Kaufman) – 5 // 5 Review here!

Shackled (Tom Leveen) – 2 // 5

The Fault in our Stars (John Green) – 4 // 5

We are All Made of Molecules (Susin Nielsen) – 3 // 5

We all Looked Up (Tommy Wallach) – 4 // 5

Fly Away Peter (David Malouf) – 3 // 5

The War of the Worlds (HG Wells) – 4 // 5

Smith of Wootton Major (JRR Tolkien) – 5 // 5

Hard Times (Charles Dickens) – 4 // 5

Farmer Giles of Ham (JRR Tolkien) – 5 // 5

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA


about the books

I read a mixture of classics, Tolkien, and YA this month! Overall I was quite happy with the books I read.

My favourite books were undoubtedly the Tolkien ones, as well as the Illuminae series, which I am a little in love with!! I also greatly enjoyed Hard Times by Dickens. There were a few disappointments amongst the YA that I read, including Shackled, which sounds a lot worse than it is.

For the first time all year I didn’t reread anything, which was wonderful! It was so great to read so many new books. That said, this upcoming month I’m planning on doing a little more rereading, so stay tuned 🙂

on the blog

I actually blogged a lot this month! The reason for this was that my Main Goal™ of this term was to actually have some sort of blogging schedule 🙂


OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

instagram

I RETURNED AND I ACTUALLY TOOK PICTURES WOW WHAT IS THIS

Who knows how long I’ll stick around for! I just need picture inspiration, because my brain is dry with creativity.


in other news

I’ve been writing again!! Yes, it is a fanfiction, but I’m so excited for it!! I’ve loved every second of writing this story, something that hasn’t happened before. It’s a story where I get to write about badass girls and death and memories and use all the ‘John Green style’ that I can muster. I’m having so so much fun writing it!

My mother was away overseas for 3+ weeks this month, which was really hard. It’s mainly because of this that I’m surprised I managed to read 13 books, because when I wasn’t doing schoolwork I was trying to keep the house/doggos under control.


highlights

I really struggled to find highlights this month. Not because there weren’t any, but rather because I honestly have no idea what happened. July was a blur that I can barely recall.

a list of happy things:

  • theological debates, seeing old frens, and making new ones at a dear human’s party xx
  • camping with good friends on a wonderful, freezing weekend – cooking, putting up tents, going on walks, and getting to know them infinitely better!
  • playing mafia around a campfire with the gang.
  • getting to put into practice the things I learned at a youth camp last month 🙂
  • actually surviving while my mother was away (very unexpected) and….
  • having her come back xx

img_0581All in all, I had a blurry, interesting, different month. It saddens me that I barely remember anything from it – I clearly need to do more journalling!

What about you? How was your month?

Keep smiling,

Emmi 🙂

Leave a Reply

