what I read – my favourite genres!

P6151690.JPG

I will be the first to admit that I am a little picky with the books I like to read. This is a quality that I have always had – from admitting that I didn’t like Beast Quest at eight, to being fourteen and admitting to my friend that I greatly disliked the Divergent series.

But what sort of books do I like reading?

The good sort.

This basically includes books that are well written. Books that contain good messages. Books that are wholesome and good for my soul. This collection includes, but is not limited to:

  • The Little Bookroom, by Eleanor Farjeon.
  • Anne of Green Gables series, by LM Montgomery.
  • The What Katy Did series, by Susan Coolidge.
  • Winnie the Pooh, by A.A. Milne.
  • The Secret Garden, by Frances Hodgson Burnett.

These books make me smile, and giggle, and are full of innocence and love and general wholesome-ness.

Historical Fiction.

I’ve always, always loved this genre! A really well written historical fiction novel allows me to disappear into my favourite times in history, when I don’t have to bother about nuclear bombs and crooked politicians. My favourites include:

  • Pendragon’s Heir, by Suzannah Rowntree.
  • The Matilda series, by Jackie French.
  • Honestly anything by Jackie French, to be honest.
  • Salt to the Sea, by Ruta Sepetys.
  • The Boy in the Striped Pajamas, by John Boyne.

I feel like Historical Fiction also lets us learn about our past and broadens our perspective of the world. It gives us a bigger picture of our past, and makes it come to life!

P6151697.JPG

The classics.

Ahhh here we are, back to my old love! I grew up on this genre and adore old books in all their forms. If they are written in the nineteenth century or earlier, then they automatically have a place in my heart ❤ A compact list of my favourites:

  • Sherlock Holmes series, by Arthur Conan Doyle.
  • The Merry Adventures of Robin Hood,  by Howard Pyle.
  • Le Morte D’arthur, by Malory Thomas.
  • The Consolation of Philosophy, by Boethius.
  • Pride and Prejudice, by Jane Austen.

Sometimes old books show so much more of a perspective on the world than any new book can, you know??? ahhh I love classics very very much.

Fantasy.

Fantasy is something that I’ve only really gotten into over the last few years, but I feel like my love for it is growing and growing and growing and pretty soon it’ll overtake my life. I love how created worlds show us so much about our own world! A few of my favourites:

  • Lord of the Rings, by JRR Tolkien. (of course!)
  • The Chronicles of Narnia, by CS Lewis.
  • The Illuminae Files, by Amie Kaufman.
  • The Raven Cycle, by Maggie Stiefvater.
  • Harry Potter, by JK Rowling.

Creating fantasy worlds is one of the most enjoyable things to do, and I love reading about worlds that other people have created!

P6151701.JPG

YA books.

I have to admit that I am very picky with the YA books that I like – but I have come across a few that are absolutely gorgeous! These are the sort of books that get inside your head and sort of nestle there, changing your perception on the world.

Here are some of my favourites:

  • The Bone Sparrow, by Zana Fraillon.
  • Words in Deep Blue, by Cath Crowley.
  • Eleanor and Park, by Rainbow Rowell.
  • The Snow Child, by Eowyn Ivey.

The well written young adult book is actually incredibly powerful. I would claim that they can be more powerful and impacting (on my life at least) then some great classics, because of their accessibility and how relatable they are.


Of course all this is just my opinion, and a lot of it simply comes down to personal taste! I love fantasy, classics, and the well written YA. Others will love romance, contemporary, and mystery. In genres, at least, it all comes down to taste and what you like!

img_0581It was so so tricky to narrow down the list – I didn’t get to mention my love for mystery, suspense, apocalyptic books, and the occasional science fiction. But it sums up my taste at the moment pretty well, I think!

What sorts of books do you like reading?

Keep smiling, Em 🙂

One thought on “what I read – my favourite genres!

  1. Pingback: July 2017 wrapup | a little word garden

Leave a Reply

