Gemina

29236299Gemina, by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff. 1st read 6 July 2017.    5 // 5 stars.

My not-very-coherent thoughts after reading this book: AAAAAHHHHHHHHHHH WHERE’S THE THIRD ONE I NEED IT WHAT DO YOU MEAN IT COMES OUT NEXT YEAR???

So basically, I really love this book!

 

the story

This book follows on from the first book, with lots of new characters. It’s set in space six hundred years in the future, and takes place on a jump station – a space station that allows ships to jump through wormholes. It contains exciting action, hilarious one-liners, unpredictability, and brand new characters with a whole new level of sass!

Just like the first book, this one is set out in data logs, messages, diagrams, and pictures, rather than usual text. It takes a bit of getting used to, but it’s so fun to read!


what I liked:

  • This books avoided the sequel blues, and it did so spectacularly! I don’t think I’ve ever read a sequel that is just as exciting – if not more so – as the first book.
  • I loved the characters! The book itself focused around brand new people who weren’t in the first book (although old characters are still included!). I feel like this was how it avoided the sequel blues – by focusing on a new plot and characters, rather than just further developing old characters.
  • The plot! It was so exciting and intricate and, though confusing at times, it was always extremely well thought out and put together!
  • It’s hilarious! It really is though! Even though overall it’s quite a serious book, there are so many funny moments.
  • The writing! I just love the format and the way that the series is put together. I think it’s really clever and it changed the way that I thought writing had to be.
  • The ending! Without spoiling anything, the ending was really fantastic! I didn’t see it coming, I (nearly) cried, and my heart stopped several times because it was just so hard to look away.

what I didn’t like so much

  • As with the last book, there is a bit of profanity. It is all blacked out, however, and it didn’t bug me as much as the last book did.

To summup, then, I love love love this book! It incorporated so much that I loved from the first book, and yet so many new characters/content/world building that it somehow (cleverly) avoided the sequel blues.

Highly highly recommend, just like the first one!

img_0581There are so many feels in this book – ahhhh. At it’s core, it’s a book about humans – human suffering and human experiences, just set in the future. AHHH I love this book so much!

Have you read this book?

Keep smiling,

Em 🙂

2 thoughts on “Gemina

  1. Pingback: July 2017 wrapup | a little word garden

  2. Pingback: Birthday Haul!! | a little word garden

Leave a Reply

