Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban

Harry_Potter_and_the_Prisoner_of_Azkaban.jpgHarry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban, by JK Rowling. 3rd Reread 5th June 2017.    5 // 5 stars.

I feel like there’s already a ridiculous amount of opinions on this book already floating around on the internet, but I’m going to throw mine into it too with this little mini review.

This is perhaps my favourite book in the series! It’s exciting, entertaining, and the plot twists are so surprising!!

If you don’t know the story, here’s a quick overview (no spoilers!):

the story

Harry’s in his third year at Hogwarts, and is starting a lot of new subjects, though not as many as Hermione. The notorious Sirius Black is on the run, escaped from Azkaban (wizard jail), and a large black dog is stalking Harry. All in all, it’s the making of another stressful, exciting, and wonderful year at Hogwarts!

what I like

  • this book is so chill. Seriously.
  • My favourite part in the whole book (A TINY SPOILER, SORRY! LOOK AWAY IF YOU WANT!) is when Hermione slaps Draco. I shake with joy every single time I read that scene because it’s just so amazing and Hermione is the best!!!!!!
  • This book is kind of inbetween when Harry is a smol child™, and when things start to get more serious with Voldemort. It’s a break between angst and innocence and I really enjoy that part of it!
  • The character development though!! Hermione really gets to step up in this book, and become her own. Ron gets lots of development in the way he deals with situations. And Harry gets to show his strength in a way that I don’t think he gets to in the earlier books.
  • The action is well written. I think that JK Rowling has a particular knack for her action sequences. They’re written in a way which beg you to keep reading, and yet so you still know what’s going on.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
This is honestly one of those books which I read with a big, silly smile on my face. It’s exciting, but it’s a bit of a break. Information for the rest of the series is introduced, but the story still has its own plot. Yes, the ending is a little unrealistic, but I actually like that. I’ve always liked Time Travelling stories, after all!

Once again, the one overarching problem I have with the first books in the series is the writing style. That said, by this book I barely notice it. At this point, JK has picked herself up – it’s starting to become the sort of book where you can say, “This is well written” and pair it with an intelligent nod.


img_0581One of my favourite part of this book are all the delicious plot twists at the end – no spoilers!! I also loooove Harry. I will say that friendship drama goes down and it isn’t pretty, but it’s very entertaining.

Have you read this book?? Rant with me in the comments!

–Emmeline 🙂

One thought on “Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban

  1. Pingback: June 2017 Wrapup | a little word garden

Leave a Reply

