Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets

ChamberofsecretsHarry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets, by JK Rowling. Reread 5th June 2017.   5 // 5 stars.

This story was my first introduction to Harry Potter, waaaayyyy back when I was eight. Let me explain.

I was sleeping over at a friend’s house, and we watched the movie of this book! To be honest, all I remember from it now was that scene where the cat gets petrified and also that scene in the chamber, because I swear it terrified me out of my skin. Also, having not read any of the books, I had absolutely no idea what was going on, so that didn’t help. All in all, the movie greatly put me off the whole franchise.

Looking back I laugh at myself, because eight year old me was so terrified and confused by this movie. However, I do understand, because this book is slightly creepy.

the story

This book follows on from the previous one; Harry is now in his second year at Hogwarts. A mysterious chamber in the school gets opened, and Harry is blamed for it. Honestly when you’re reading it all you want to do is give this child a big hug because he’s given so so much stress for nothing!! In the end, of course, there’s a large confrontation between Harry and Voldemort’s previous self, and Harry comes out triumphant.

why i like it

  • We start to see Harry grow up a little – and it’s very well done. In fact, one of the things I most like about this entire series is how you can see the character development and growth from book to book. Even though there’s only one year’s difference between this one and the last one, you can still see Harry’s growth!!
  • The clever mix between mundane schoolwork and exciting confrontations with evil forces. Not that the schoolwork is mundane – Rowling manages to make even reading about classes exciting – but there’s a great balance between action and not-really-action.
  • Everything’s important!! I love books like that, where every little conversation matters – I need more please.
  • Enter Ginny, who is honestly a wondddeeerrrrffffuuuullllllll character whom I loooovvvve. She’s just so cool! And I love how she pops up every now and then throughout the book – and especially at the end! no spoilers here
  • The writing is improving. The author is discovering her style and there are many more well constructed sentences than the previous book.
  • The plot fits together like a clever jigsaw puzzle and I looove it. It’s not predictable, and it’s exciting, and ahhhh I love it
  • Basically I really like this book okay. It’s just really well done.

P4021492.jpg

 

This book is certainly a lot darker than the previous one. Where in Philosopher’s Stone, some of the darker details are sometimes skimmed over, in this book all of the evil is placed out in plain site. Kids, cats, and ghosts are petrified. Roosters are murdered. A certain level of maturity is required to read this book, because it is just plain creepy in places.

This is something that is both good and bad, I think – I’m someone who particularly enjoys hints of creepiness in books, but I don’t think that it should be there for the sake of it, nor should it be portrayed as good. This book doesn’t do that – it’s there for a reason, and the source of the creepiness is portrayed as bad.

It is possibly a bad thing because I would argue that this book requires a certain level of maturity to read. Firstly, to discern reality from fiction, and secondly, to be able to handle the creepy content. Would I give this book to an eight year old? Probably not. Any older, and it depends on the maturity of the child.

So, as to things I don’t like so much about this book:

  • There are parts where I would question what age group this book is intended for. I wouldn’t expect the series to push that boundary until a little later on, but its already pushing it, man.
  • The writing – it’s improving, but it’s not quite there yet.
  • Incidentally, this is my least favourite of all the books (probably something to do with the experience of being scarred from the movie as an eight year old). That said, I still give it five stars, sooooooo…..
  • ONCE AGAIN IT’S TOO SHORT – I NEED MORE HOGWARTS PLEASE AND THANK YOU

Basically, this isn’t my favourite of the series, but I still really love it. There are parts I only picked up on this reread that just make the characters and plot so much better . . . Seriously, if you haven’t read this series, I would highly HIGHLY RECOMMEND.


img_0581I feel like I didn’t express myself properly in this review – this is one of the only series’ (apart from LOTR, of course) where I can truly lose myself in the world, truly become engaged in the storyline. If I’m reading this book, it’s very hard for me to get distracted.

Have you read this book? Any thoughts?

Love, Emmeline 🙂

One thought on “Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets

  1. Pingback: June 2017 Wrapup | a little word garden

Leave a Reply

