1984 – REVIEW TIME

orwell-1984-book-cover-10

1984 by George Orwell
Read 27th February 2017.     4 // 5 stars.

I’ve been gone for a little, studying and assignment-ing away. However, I took a little break to record my thoughts on this stunning book, one that I’d been wanting to read for a very long time.

This book is a stunning commentary on humanity. I read it in one sitting, and I’m still slightly in awe of its power??? I was quite honestly glued to the page.

My favourite thing about this book was undoubtedly the fact that it makes one think – about the human condition. It presents a very negative view on humanity. Thankfully, as a Christian I know that should I be put in the same situations as Winston was, I would stand my ground. However it was still good to read this book and see life from another’s point of view.

This book is powerful. It made me question my own reality. For a moment there I caught myself wondering if, after all, we would be a stronger society without love. It is a question that Lauren Oliver tried to answer in her Delerium series, and one that many others have also tried to answer. 1984 says that we would be. We would be stronger. We would be completely united as one. Our only loyalty would be to the Government. While (of course) I disagree with this view of humanity, I do agree that we would be stronger.

I suppose as humans we have to decide between retaining our individuality, and being strong as a society. I choose retaining our individuality. But, if a group of people (such as there are, in the world today) were to choose the latter, it would require uniting together to oppose with them. In the end, then, life goes on. And we go on with it.

If it weren’t for the fact that I believe in a God who is greater than the human condition, I would be quite discouraged by this book. But in some sense it was just reaffirming what I already believed; that humanity is messed up.

So those are just a few of the scattered thoughts that I had whilst reading this great book. There were a couple of things that brought the rating down from five to four stars; namely the emphasis on sexual pleasure. Maybe I just can’t relate to this, but it did seem to me a little unnecessary that there was such a large emphasis placed on it.

img_0581Additionally, I think that this book is not really meant to be read as a story. I think that the author intended us to think when we read it, to discuss it, to ponder it and the themes it presents.

Have you read this book?

Keep smiling,

Emmeline 🙂

Leave a Reply

