Fangirl – REVIEW TIME

fangirlcover

Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell. 
Read February 4 – 6 2017.     3.5 // 5 stars.

I fangirled over this book. Yet, I didn’t obsess to the level that I was expecting myself to. I surprised myself by reading it and thinking – I feel a little let down? I had ridiculously high expectations for this book and I feel like not all of them were answered.

What I liked.

  • It contained Fanfiction!! I mean, when you think about the high amounts of fanfiction on the web, it’s a bit ridiculous that most books ignore its existence!! As someone who’s read and written (sssshhhh) a lot of fic, I resonated strongly with Cath’s joys and frustrations.
  • The relationship that the book was centred around was quite adorable. I squealed a lot. Also, thanks to Cath’s nature, there wasn’t much more than kissing, for which I was very thankful for.
  • The characters were all well-developed and not wooden. They were all different, which = good book.
  • It was a very realistic book. (more on this later!)
  • It literally had so much nerd culture that my heart was rendered incredibly happy! The fanfiction, the fangirling, the midnight book releases – perfection.

what i didn’t like.

  • The book had some things missing. This is perhaps a little hard to explain, but the ending wasn’t resolved to a place that I’d like it to be. There were some scenes that could have been taken places, but weren’t, and therefore seemed rather unnecessary. The ending bugged me.

(and that was about it!)

There is one more thing I’d like to mention. Rainbow Rowell’s writing style is centred around realism. She writes in the real world – there isn’t always a happy ever after. The ending isn’t always fully resolved. It’s a very different writing style, and it does take a lot of getting used to.

I’ve heard someone say that you either like her books, or you don’t.

I personally enjoy her work. I think it’s different, and refreshing. I think that people go into her work not realising that it will be different, and that’s where the crux occurs. This was -slightly- me in Fangirl.

I kinda forgot it was written by the same author as Eleanor and Park???

Anyway, I went into it thinking that maybe there’d be a fully satisfying happy ending, and while it may have been happy it didn’t fully satisfy me. There were parts that I would have appreciated the inclusion of. There were some scenes that I don’t think were necessary, despite it being realistic. I thought that the book was too long.


img_0581And, in the end, I am not a romance reader – I’m a sword buckler, classics, fantasy world reader. And so I think that this book did quite well to entice me as much as it did! It’s certainly well written, and the writing was stunning.

Have you read this book? What did you think?

Keep smiling,

Emmeline 🙂

Leave a Reply

