2017 READING RESOLUTIONS

Hooray for 2017, a new year, a new start, a new beginning! 2016 was a bit of a nightmare world-wise, and to be quite honest with ye, I don’t think that 2017 will be much better. However, regardless of whether or not the world will explode, I hope that in the New Year I’ll be able to read a lot more. Here are my FIVE Reading Resolutions for 2017.

  1. Read 100 books

    I feel like I will seriously regret this decision at some point, as I have already set myself up for an extremely busy year non-book-related-wise. But guess what? Impossible goals are my friends.

  2. Read one classic a month

    I was brought up on classics – I started reading Arthur Conan Doyle and LM Montgomery at ten, and have never looked back. Therefore, I don’t want to lose the wonderfulness of reading classics just because everyone else on Instagram is reading YA. No. I am aiming to read at least one classic a month and nothing is going to stop me.

  3. Try and stay on top of that TBR

    I am perhaps the only bookworm that doesn’t have a planet of books to read. That said, ever since I started bookstagram the list has been growing steadily … and I’m hoping to stay reasonably on top of it.

  4. Finish all the books in my bookshelf

    This has been something I’ve been meaning to do for AGES. Also, a quarter of the books in my shelf are classics, and so I would really like to get to them soon.

  5. Stay ahead on here and Instagram

    This one is last, but most certainly not least. I absolutely love updating this blog and my bookstagram account, and I really don’t want to let it go down to the dumps just because I am starting uni fulltime.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I am honestly ridiculously excited for the New Year and what it will bring. I am starting Uni fulltime, working towards my writing degree, which I’m aiming to finish in two years.*

That said, I really don’t want to let my reading go. For the beginning six months of this year I had a HUGE reading slump, and only managed to read a few books for school, ones that I had to read. That stopped when I discovered Bookstagram, and these last few months have been wonderful for me.

So over the next year, I want to stay on top of myself. Reading is a wonderful way for me, an introverted teen, to relax and just stop. And I don’t want to relive those first six months again.

*I know I’m a crazy person. Just let me and my impossible goals be impossibly ridiculous 🙂

img_0581

What are your goals for the new year?

With that said, happy new year everyone! I pray and hope that you will have a blessed year full of reading and books and fandom merch and candles. Now go out and make your own story a great one!

With love,

Emmeline 🙂

Leave a Reply

