Favourite books of 2016

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Top Ten Faves of this year

Today I present to you … the best books I read this year. At time of writing I’ve read 70 books, and out of those, I’ve had some clear favourites 🙂

  1. War and Peace – Leo Tolstoy

    I read this one towards the beginning of the year, and I am so glad I did! It’s such an important and thought provoking tale, that made me both cry and laugh. I would highly recommend this to anyone and everyone. Find my review for it here.

  2. Anna Karenina – Leo Tolstoy

    I read this one just after War and Peace, and while I didn’t enjoy it nearly as much, I was able to greatly appreciate the depth and beauty of this book.

  3. City of God – Saint Augustine

    I technically read this for school, but I think it deserves a place on my list just because of its great complexity. The thought that went into this book is absolutely incredible … I’ve tried to start a review for this many times and have failed epically. I can’t even begin to write about the ideas that this book contains, perhaps because it contains so many. It definitely gave me a lot to think about.

    OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

  4. Bonhoeffer – Eric Metaxas

    This is one that I had been eyeing off for a while before I finally took the plunge. I’m so glad I did. Like City of God, it contains a well of ideas and knowledge, as well as being more modern and a biography. Very, very glad I read this one.

  5. The Bone Sparrow – Zana Fraillon

    This is now one of my favourite books, no joke. It’s a tale of Asylum Seekers in Australia, and how they are treated in our camps. It also made me cry.

  6. She is Not Invisible – Marcus Sedgwick

    I hadn’t read anything by this author before, but I thoroughly enjoyed this one. I think it’s one of those books that you either love or hate. I personally love it.

    OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

  7. The Little Bookroom – Eleanor Farjeon

    This one is a collection of fairy tales and bedtime stories – except you won’t have heard of any of them before, because the author made them up. As a great lover of all things Fairy Tale, I absolutely loved this book. (also I grew up on it, so that helped too.)

  8. A Rose for the Anzac Boys – Jackie French

    I absolutely LOVE historical fiction, and this author never fails to produce a good sound book. This is one of her better ones, I think – and I absolutely adored it.

  9. Eleanor and Park – Rainbow Rowell

    I didn’t actually give this one five stars, because I disagreed with the morals and beliefs presented as right in this book. But the characters? YESSSS. Writing? YESSS. Plot? YESSS. (i liked this one)

  10. The Lord of the Rings – JRR Tolkien

    This year’s reread was thoroughly enjoyable. Also, as my FAVOURITE BOOK EVER, I feel like it deserves a place on my list. In addition, it’s amazing and practically perfect in every way.

 

 

pagesAnd that’s a wrap! I’ve branched out a lot in my reading this year, and yet my list still contains mainly classics. I think that’s because a) once a homeschooler, always a homeschooler, and b) people knew grammar once, and I greatly enjoy books with correct grammar.

What was your favourite book this year?

Chat soon!

–Emmeline 🙂

Leave a Reply

