Anna and the French Kiss: Stephanie Perkins REVIEW TIME

review-timeFirst read November 24 – 25, 2016.
3 // 5   stars.

Today I’m reviewing Anna and the French Kiss, a pointless book that is somehow enjoyable!

anna-and-the-french-kiss

In this book, a reasonably pretty and clever girl named Anna is sent off to a boarding school in Paris by her ridiculously rich father, who writes cliche books. She is at first extremely upset – I mean, it’s Paris after all – to be sent away, but soon warms up to the idea, and the extremely good-looking Etienne.

What I liked

My first reaction upon picking up this book was “It’s going to be predictable”. Of course it is, I mean, read the title. However, it actually works. The whole predictable-ness added to the overarching theme of ‘this is just a harmless story, give it a break’.

I loved the theme. As aforesaid, it just felt very harmless. There was no point where I felt like it was real, like the story could actually happen in real life – but sometimes I feel like we need those harmless books where everything works out in the end and everyone lives happily ever after. It’s encouraging. Particularly when you’re having a down day, a harmless book can often pick you up immensely.

There wasn’t a lot of swearing, which was refreshing. What there was didn’t feel overdone – not that I liked it! I was just a lot less than in most YA which I greatly enjoyed.

I loved Etienne. He was extremely considerate to everyone and was just a really nice guy! To be honest, he made the book for me. He was the reason I kept on reading.

What I didn’t like

Firstly, the main character, Anna. Maybe it was because she acted completely differently to how I acted when I moved cities at eleven. Maybe I was jealous of the fact that she made friends immediately and I didn’t. I don’t know. I just didn’t connect with her in any way apart from her circumstances. Of course, that’s just my personal opinion and others may greatly connect to her 🙂

Who makes friends that quickly? Literally, at the end of the first week she has four good friends. Even for an extrovert, people don’t generally open up their friendship group that quickly.

The book felt a bit too long for what it was; an easy read with a predictable ending. I felt like it could have been a lot shorter.

It was set in Paris, and yet it didn’t feel like it was in Paris. There wasn’t enough Paris for my liking. I mean, I’m not asking for a tourist guide, but just a few more romantic dates to obscure cafes would have been nice.

I didn’t like the ending. It just …. sort of stopped. I wanted more, and not in a I-need-a-sequel way, in a it-just-ceased-to-exist sort of way.

Overall Thoughts

The book promoted the idea that making friends overnight is easy-peasy, lemon-squeezy, and that going to boarding school means you get the boy of your dreams. And yet, I still liked it, somehow.

I don’t think these happily-ever-after books are good to read all the time. However, I think that when you’re having a hard day, or can’t decide what to eat, these sort of books are good for getting you back on track, and remembering that there really is a rainbow behind the storm clouds.

pagesHave you read this book? What do you think?

Thanks for reading, oh ye bookdragons. I should be back soon with another review. Keep smiling!

–Emmeline 🙂

Leave a Reply

