The Murder of Roger Ackroyd: Agatha Christie REVIEW TIME

review-time

First read 18-20 October 2016.    4 // 5 stars.

Today I’ll be reviewing The Murder of Roger Ackroyd, by Agatha Christie.

I loved this book!

the-murder-of-roger-ackroyd1

Now, I absolutely LOVE Agatha Christie. I have not read one of hers yet that I did not enjoy; they are all exciting and have endings that NO ONE EXPECTS.*

That said, with every book there are always some things wrong. I mean, come on. What book is perfect? Really?** So, let’s jump right in to what I liked…. and what I didn’t.

*if you do expect it then you are Sherlock Holmes and what are you doing reading my blog? Can I get your autograph?
**Except Lord of the Rings. That goes without saying.

 

What I liked.

  • The ending. Dear me I was not expecting that ending.
  • The characters. Everyone was AMAZING and well written. Agatha Christie always does so well in writing stories with tons of characters and having them all real and well developed.
  • The writing. I absolutely LOVE her writing style. It may seem simple but it’s actually ridiculously difficult to do. For me, at least.
  • The plot. I just can’t work out how she writes these amazing mysteries. I just can’t.
  • Poirot. Because he is awesome.

 

What I didn’t like.

  • The ending. No spoilers, and it was awesome and all, but it didn’t quite work in my mind.
  • It dragged a tad. In some points it was a bit dull – there were times when I was hanging out for something to happen. I think she could have taken several scenes out and it would have worked a lot better.
  • I can’t really think of anything else because I actually really, really loved this book.

 

This was such a great book! I haven’t read many Christie’s, I will have to admit, but I am definitely glad that I read this one.

Highly recommend.

Have a great day!

–Emmeline 🙂

Leave a Reply

