TOP TEN BOOKS on my TBR

tbr

Aahh, To Be Read piles. They’re interesting things, aren’t they? We hate them and we love them at the same time. All the while threatening to squash us, every time we relieve it of its weight, it only seems to grow despite our caution.

With that said, here is a list of the most IMPORTANT books on my TBR list (which is bordering seventy books which is also ridiculous).

TEN BOOKS inΒ my (ridiculously long) TBR

  1. Don Quixote – Miguel de Cervantes

    I have wanted to read this book for a year and a day, and I still haven’t gotten round to it. Maybe its length is what’s stopping me, but that didn’t stop me reading War and Peace, so I don’t even know what’s wrong with anymore. Definitely reading this one next year.
    (or at least that’s what I’m telling myself now)

  2. The Name of the Rose – Umberto Eco

    This just seems like a really good book (though it is ridiculously long). I really want to read it sometime in the distant near future …

  3. Les Miserables – Victor Hugo

    No, I have not seen the movie. No, I have not seen the musical. (Theatre tickets are expensive!) Yes, I do occasionally feel left out when my friends burst into rousing choruses and I don’t know the words. (Well, it would make more sense if I could actually sing … but if I knew the words I would sing anyway. Because I sound like a dying crow but that doesn’t stop me enjoying it.)

  4. Moby Dick – Herman Melville

    This has been one I’ve been meaning to read for ages, ever since I first heard it referenced on a documentary.

  5. The Great Gatsby – F. Scott Fitzgerald

    This is one that I want to wait a bit longer before reading, but still desperately want to read, help.

  6. Fangirl – Rainbow Powell

    Well, seeing as I have nothing but classics on the list, I figured I should add this. I’ve been wanting to try it for ages, and I’ve nothing but good things, so I figured – why not give it a try? (now all I need is money to buy it, yay)

  7. Nineteen Eighty-Four – George Orwell

    This is one that I’ve been meaning to get to for AGES. I really really want to try it, dear me!

  8. Animal Farm – George Orwell

    ANOTHER ONE by George Orwell?! Yes! I never had to do this one in school so I really want to try it now, as it’s a classic and therefore good.

  9. Percy Jackson (and all of the books by…) – Rick Riordan

    I’ve read the first one-and-a-half books, and haven’t gotten around to the rest, though they are so much fun and I couldn’t stop giggling. I think I’m subconsciously saving this one for a day when I need laughter, because Percy is surely the funniest character ever to have been written from first person.

  10. Go Set A Watchman – Harper Lee

    Dear me, I have read How To Kill A Mockingbird twice now, and it is simply stunning. I have heard many good things about the second book, and seeing as I own it, there really isn’t anything stopping me from reading it, is there. (Apart from the rest of my TBR, that is.)

So that’s that! Hope you enjoyed. It was sooo hard to choose my top ten, but I have to prioritise. I really do.

(Hides under the table because I know that I will not read these ones before the rest of my TBR)

(Sorry)

–Emmeline πŸ™‚

2 thoughts on “TOP TEN BOOKS on my TBR

  1. Oh I seriously need to read Go Set a Watchman still too!! I have the audiobook and I actually have no idea why I haven’t tried it yet. So many books, so little time?!πŸ˜‚ And YES Fangirl is amazing and all of the Percy Jackson books are beyond perfection and hilariousness. I hope you get to try the rest of them soon!!

    Like

    • Aww thank you!! I know, there are seriously WAYYYY too many books to read in our lifetimes, and yet we think we actually have a chance XD Ahh well, optimism for da win! I definitely want to try them real soon though! And I hope you get around to Go Set A Watchman too πŸ™‚ I feel like as such a huge fan of To Kill a Mockingbird I should have tried it earlier, but … meh.

      Thanks so much πŸ™‚

      Like

Leave a Reply

