NaNoWriMo UPDATE BECAUSE I CAN’T MAKE UP MY MIND CAN I + reading updates

secret-garden

I was so sure of what I was doing for NaNo. In fact, I was so sure that I didn’t even bother to plan it in the slightest – I know what I’m doing, thought I.

Ha.

I was so sure of what I was doing, my brain just had to change its mind, didn’t it.

What I’m Doing For NaNoWriMo (take two)

I first wrote this story … two years ago methinks? It was a while back, anyway. I picked it up again the other day and knew that I could do something with it, so I decided to do it for NaNoWriMo.

It’s set in the land of Samaa (sam-uu) (pronunciation is important) which is a land which my sister and I made up around ten years ago. Since then a heap of world building has taken place, and I thought it was about time that I set a story in it!

So I did/will. It’s a children/fantasy/fiction/everything really sort of story, about a girl and her family. I’m working on the planning of it at the moment, so that I’m not completely pantsing NaNo when it begins. (which, subsequently, is in one week. Eeek.)

I will provide more updates shortly, but in the meantime, I wish everyone good luck and many well wishes on their writing journey!

Let’s have some reading updates…

What I’ve Read Recently

from 19th October to 24th October 2016

The Murder of Roger Ackroyd (Agatha Christie) – 4/5

This book excited me, bringing with it both Agatha’s wonderful talent and some unexpected twists. And the ending! Brilliance. While some of this book was a tad dull, I was never bored. I pronounce this a good book that you should READ, humans.

The Jewel: The Lone City, #1 (Amy Ewing) – 1/5

I really do not like giving books one star. I really don’t. But this one… it didn’t have much going for it. At all. For example… Mary Sues galore, weak writing, unrealistic decisions made by aforementioned Mary Sues, depressingly ridiculous romances (with some parts that made me cringe and want to stop reading), me wanting to laugh in all the wrong places… oh dear. This wasn’t for me.

Four (Veronica Roth) – 1/5

I was looking for a good book to cheer me up after the disappointment of the above book. I didn’t find it in Four. The writing was weak and I found the protagonist rather Mary Sue-ish. The only reason I could see someone enjoying it was if they were part of the fandom … as I am not, I can safely say that this book, which I had anticipated reading for years, was nothing short of a depressing disappointment.

The Raven Boys: The Raven Cycle #2 (Maggie Stiefvater) – 4/5

I needed something to cheer me up after those last two reads of mine, and I found it in this book. It was so good! It relieved me, it was fresh, it made me stay up late to finish it, it made me laugh, and it made me cry. The only thing I wasn’t a big fan of was the magic in this one. It was real; it wasn’t fantasy magic, and this makes me uncomfortable – I can deal with bits, but the whole plot centres around it. It is because of this that I am hesitant of reading the sequels, even though I want to. I’ll have to wait and see. But I really loved it, and the writing was wonderful – such a change from all the prosey prose that I’ve been reading lately.

Well, that’s all from me. Keep smiling, and until next time, humans!

–Emmeline 🙂

Leave a Reply

