NaNoWriMo and EXCITING NEWS + Libraries

img_0581

Lots of things to talk about today! Let’s start right off with …

// NaNoWriMo and My Failed Attempt //

National Novel Writing Month is coming up soon, and I am pumped. I’ve done the camp in July but I’ve never done the actual thing, and I’m so ready!

My experience in July was – ahem – interesting. You see, ten thousand words away from my goal of forty thousand words, and just over halfway into the month, I decided to change stories. It was most definitely the right choice but it did cost me my official win.

I ended up writing – I think – twenty thousand of the other story (I’ve written more now, though). So I won technically, but it wasn’t registered on the site … and I wasn’t going to cheat by saying I had written more on that story than I had!

So in the end I had written twenty thousand. And I was a little disappointed in myself, because I had really gone it hard. But I’m so pumped for this time round, now that it’s the proper thing. I’m gonna do it this time!

fullsizerender-2

the beginnings of planning my NaNo story

// My Actual Story That I’ll Be Working On // *

I started this story two years ago, and it was the first one I ever wrote since my debut book of The Dancing Chickens, years and years ago. (Which I barely count as a book … my illustrations are terrible.)

I won’t say much about it, other than that it’s technically a kids book, but I am aiming for Harry Potter style – fun and thought provoking for all ages. It’ll probably be in more than one book, but as I’m still in the planning stage I’m not sure yet.

I am NOT pantsing it. I AM PLANNING IT. ** This story is going to be so well planned that I will not have even a second of wondering, “What comes next?” or alternatively, “What the heck am I doing?”

My username is Emmeline Annie on there, and you’re welcome to stalk me 🙂 I made a new account because I despised my username, and I’m hoping to keep this account for many years to come!

*if I don’t change my mind before the start of November, or in the middle like last time
** future me laughs nervously in the distance

// Big Wonderful EXCITING NEWS //

I started a Youtube Channel!!! I am honestly so, so excited – and nervous – for this. Talking is not something that comes naturally to me but I find talking to myself relatively easy … is that weird? I don’t know.

Link to my first video HERE!!!

I didn’t even mention this on my instagram because I was so nervous. Seriously, two minutes after I had uploaded it I was regretting EVERYTHING and wishing I could CHANGE EVERYTHING.

But I have swallowed the little self-esteem I have left and am now telling the internet. If anyone’s reading this. Otherwise I’m just telling future me who is probably rolling her eyes at me … *waves and swallows nervously*

But seriously, I would love it if you could show me some support. Even if it’s just watching it, or spending two seconds of your time to add a comment to the video, I would appreciate it beyond all anythings.

Thanks so much, humans 🙂

 

// Reading Update //

I have read four books this month so far, am halfway through three more, and am in the first pages of two. This is what happens when you go to the library and get a pile that is SURELY HEAVIER THAN YOU.

But it’s definitely an improvement from last month! I’m hoping to keep it up 🙂

Well, that’s all from me. Keep smiling, and until next time, humans!

— Emmeline 🙂

Leave a Reply

