September WRAPUP

Hello humans/future me!

Today I’d like to write about … My September And What Happened In This Whirl Wind Of A Month, As Well As The Books I Read.

Well, a lot of things happened actually. The first being we moved the house around and it took AGES. But it’s done now and my piano has a lovely new spot – I won’t show you a picture because it’s covered in music books and flighty pieces of paper that-I-need-several-folders-for … so let’s just imagine that this is my piano.

grand-piano-actual-thing

 

Because it’s my dream piano.

*ahem* moving on. I ordered my five YA books off Book Depository (seriously I can’t get over how cool BD is, I mean free worldwide shipping. Seriously?!? Epic!), and adore the covers, though I can’t say as much for the actual stories.

bookhaul

I mean, the covers are gorgeous (particularly Eleanor and Park) but I’m not sure that the glimpses of the writing that I got when I flicked-through-the-book are particularly good. I suppose I’ll find out when I actually read all of them (I’ve only read one so far).

I read a not-so-grand total of six books this month.

eptember-books

Yeah, I’m not happy. This year has been nothing but a reading slump. I may not even get to my Goodreads goal of a measly 35 books. Eeek. I’m working on it – slowly. Next year I’m going to aim for eighty books, if not more, and see if that pushes me along a little. Goodness knows I used to read at least eighty books a year … *cries*

BOOKS I READ THIS MONTH

Anne of Green Gables // L.M. Montgomery – 5/5

Because I can’t bear to give Anne anything less. I just imagine her looking me in the eye and I’m gone. Sorry.

Anne of Avonlea // L.M. Montgomery – 5/5

Once again, it’s Anne. Enough said.

Black Forest Summer // Mabel Esther Allen – 2/5

Find my full review here, which pretty much explains everything. Eeeek, I did NOT enjoy this one. I suppose it goes to show that as you grow older, your tastes change. And you realise that sometimes vintage novels aren’t great. Just like some YA books I could mention … *ahem*

Crusoe of Lonesome Lake // Leland Stowe – 3/5

This was an interesting book, and the first non-fiction book I’ve read in a while. I certainly enjoyed it, that’s for sure.

The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas // John Boyne – 4/5

I am a big, big fan of WWII stuff. This is definitely one of my faves. It’s so simple, and it’s just done so well. I anticipated the ending but still wasn’t ready for it. BE STILL MY HEART.

Delirium // Lauren Oliver – 3/5

I absolutely LOVE the concept of this book. I also love her prose. It just seems to go so well with the genre – though you wouldn’t think that it would. However, it fell for me in some points – specifically the inconsistencies and the idiocies of the main character.

pages

WRITING UPDATE

Well, if you’ve read my bio you’ll know I like writing. Recently, however, I stopped. I think it had something to do with the fact that I got sick of both of the stories I was working on … and then just didn’t start a new one. Or picked up any of my numerous one-maybe-two-chapters-in stories.

BUT I’ve been working on a story that has been in the back of my head for AGES! I don’t really want to say too much about it except that it is mainly about libraries. And writing. Wow, that’s not characteristic at all *rolls eyes at myself*

But seriously, when I’m rich-and-famous and my book is published-and-has-its-own-franchise-and-tv-show*, I’ll be able to say that this book is based on a dream. That I had. At night. Because it is. And that makes me happy 🙂

*ahem. Yeah this will never happen. But you can’t stop me dreaming, reality!

donqiuote

OTHER BIG THINGS THAT HAPPENED THIS MONTH

Well (let’s start with the obvious one, shall we) … I started this blog! As well as joined the bookstagram community! And rediscovered my love of writing! Woop woop!

Well, this blog is (at the moment) (right now) a place for me to keep track of things. Of myself. Because otherwise I get confused and give up. I actually do.

But I’m happy with that 🙂 It’s a fun place for me to let go and express myself IN CAPITALS OCCASIONALLY and sometimes in italics.

And I’m happy! Are you? Keep existing humans, because who knows what the world will be without you? You’re not just a number. You’re a human. A human bean, as the BFG would say.* And all human beans are important, and beautifully and wonderfully made. So keep on going.

And that’s all from me 🙂 Keep smiling, and until next time, humans!

–Emmeline 🙂

*Has anyone seen that movie? I must see it! If they change too much, though, I will sue them I swear, because the BFG was my favourite book for at least a month as a kid. It was on my FAVES list for one point in time, okay!
Leave a Reply

